Leadership / Communications / Listening

Supercommunicators by Charles Duhigg

Emotional Intelligence Applied for 3 Conversations

Mark McMillion
5 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Photo by author. Link to Amazon listing.

This is the first book by Charles Duhigg I’ve read but I suspect it won’t be the last. This is the second book I’ve reviewed here on Medium (the other was The Coaching Habit by Michael Bungay Stanier). That went a little long and I’ll try to be more succinct for this one.

Stanier’s book was several years old when I read it. I wrote then I tend to avoid “new” leadership books as they’re overhyped and more often old wine in new bottles.

I saw a couple of reviews for this one and decided to make an exception. I’m glad I did. This book was worth the time and money.

First the author. Mr. Duhigg is a journalist and I’m always a little leery about their writing on subjects other than news. I was initially a huge fan of Malcolm Gladwell and his books, Outliers, The Tipping Point, etc. but as I thought about them more deeply and read other things in those areas, I found them to be somewhat shallow. Mr. Gladwell is a superb storyteller but perhaps a mite too glib. His writing is seductive, much like a TEDTalk, and before you know it, you’re nodding your head in agreement. What’s really happening is like a sailor listening to the song of a…

--

--

Mark McMillion

Retired Army officer with two tours in Baghdad, married with four kids. Proud West Virginian and West Point grad. Works available on Amazon.