Leadership / Communication

Leader Thoughts: The Megaphone Effect

As a leader, your voice carries

Mark McMillion
5 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Photo by Department of the Army, May 21, 2007

As a young Army officer, I commanded a basic training unit. One day, I was staying late and chatting with the Drill Sergeants (they always worked late). The day’s business was concluded and we were unwinding with small talk. In the moment, I failed to remember I wasn’t “one of the guys.” I failed to remember I was the commander. Someone told an off-color joke and we all laughed. Then I told one.

Less than 24 hours later, I found myself standing at attention in front of my commander. He asked me several direct questions which I answered directly. One of my sergeants had been offended by my joke. My joke had been in poor taste and should never have been told. But I did tell it.

It didn’t help that I had had issues with the sergeant previously. I thought we had worked them all out and it was water under the bridge. Whether he was actually offended or not is irrelevant. I had no business telling those sorts of jokes and that’s when I stopped telling dirty jokes period, regardless of company.

I learned three lessons from the incident. First of all, I was embarrassed. My behavior did not reflect my personal values and they did not reflect the values of my organization (the Army). I…

--

--

Mark McMillion

Retired Army officer with two tours in Baghdad, married with four kids. Proud West Virginian and West Point grad. Works available on Amazon.